Chrysalides, chrysalises, or chrysali?

If you are like me and have a shortcut to Webster’s Dictionary saved to your bookmarks, then you have probably already looked up the plural of chrysalis and already know, but in case you haven’t, this is direct from Webster’s: “plural chrysalides\ kri-​ˈsa-​lə-​ˌdēz \ or chrysalises”

As a grammar nerd, I wanted to make sure I was spelling the plural form of chrysalis properly, so yes I looked it up. For the record, I have chosen to use chrysalides throughout this site even though both are correct (chrysali is incorrect). I prefer chrysalides because when I look at the word chrysalises, I say it in my head with an extra -es: chrysaliseses. Then I get the song “I want a hippopotamus for Christmas” stuck in my head (“I only like hippopotamuses, and hippopotamuses like me, too!”). Gaah! I hear it now.

And, no matter what your preference is, they’re here! Chrysalides! I was actually a little bummed because we were all out on the porch, two feet away and waiting for it to happen, but the caterpillars waited until our heads were turned. It really happens that fast, apparently. The cat had been up at the top since the night before, and as the morning wore on I noticed that his antennae were starting to look pretty droopy. I was worried that he had died up there, but clearly that was just a sign that the skin was about to shed off, so next time we’ll try and get some video.

>Status: Two chrysalides, a garden that blossomed overnight, and milkweed that is now swarming with big cats.

One thought on “Chrysalides, chrysalises, or chrysali?

Leave a comment