Weeds amongst the weeds

I find it funny that I’ve had so much trouble getting a patch of weeds, I mean milkweed, to take. Part of the difficulty is that when autumn comes milkweed gets hit by the ugly stick, and I really don’t want to look at it all the time. I kept trying to find out-of-the-way places to plant it. Another issue was that when I started all this, I had no clue what I was doing, and I added a bunch of Swamp Milkweed (Asclepias incarnata), which turns out is not my favorite. I also made a bunch of other rookie mistakes that make me cringe now when I watch that video and remember how we did things. Please, please don’t get milkweed from your garden center like I did! Somehow I lucked out and I didn’t kill any caterpillars, but definitely take that as a lesson of What Not To Do.

All I can do now is move forward and “do my best with the information that I have.” I heard that somewhere and I think it is sound advice; you really can’t crucify yourself for mistakes you made in the past. You can’t know what you don’t know (more good advice), and I was clearly so proud of the milkweed we got from the garden center. I’m just glad that it didn’t end in disaster!

Anyway, last year I put this ring around our light pole, and this year we finally got it filled up with dirt. I guess next year I’ll finally get some plants in there! But right now, peeking through the out-of-control grass and weeds, you can finally, just barely, see my patch of Common Milkweed (Asclepias syriaca). If you’re having trouble locating it: look to either side of the light pole). There’s actually quite a bit in there, but it’s hidden in those heinous weeds.

Copyright KEHC Photography, August 2021

One thought on “Weeds amongst the weeds

Leave a comment